martedì 16 novembre 2010

Common European Framework of Reference for Languages

CEFR i.e. Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (in Italian - Quadro comune europeo di riferimento per le lingue). Many language students are already familiar with it: within the Language Learning for European Citizenship (1986-1996) project, the Council of Europe elaborated this reference framework.
It is intended to be a reference model on which the teaching programs of all European languages will be based.

The main language levels are 3 - corresponding to the grade of proficiency and autonomousness of the user int he four main language skills (reading, listening, writing. speaking) :
- A=basic user, 
- B=independent user, 
- C=proficient user.
The three levels are furtherly split into two sub-leves (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2). 
Accordingly, all the insitutions offering language knowledge certificates have adapted their examination programs together with the study material. 
For every language, there is a reference table listing all the grammatical structures and language competences one is supposed to reach by mastering one of the levels.
For further information, browse through the booklet available on the Consiglio d'Europa website, or read through a number of documentson the same topic, in the same website
By clicing here Italian readers can have a look at the Italian version of the table. 
Happy surfing,